I refer to the MLIS as the MKIA, or, the Master’s in Know-It-All-ogy. Know that I do this from a place of love and kinship. Remember that kid in school who always had her hand raised, either with the correct answer or with a question? Or that kid who hung out in the classroom during lunch because he actually thought the teacher’s jokes were funny (because he actually GOT the jokes, unlike the rest of the class)? Perhaps you recall the student who was Valedictorian, Yearbook President, Student Council member, and did a bazillion hours of community service, all while keeping her head? Or the fifteen year old who admitted that he kinda liked Shakespeare?

These are the people who wind up in library school. Maybe they got other degrees and had other careers. It may have taken them a while to get around to the MLIS program. But most roads lead here.

MLIS students may or may not like to learn things, but what we all have in common is that we like to know things. How much DOES a human head weigh? Does Denmark accept the Euro? Where did the saying, “The proof is in the pudding” come from? Some are smug about knowing things, some are not. Some like to show off, and others are like knowledge ninjas.

One of the most important things I have learned in this program is that I don’t need to know it all: I just need to know how to find it all out.

So, to all my fellow Lucy and Linus Van Pelts out there, I’m happy we exist. It’s comforting to know that there’s always at least one person who knows what the heck is going on.

And welcome to my blog!

