Yes. I went there.

I like Twitter. I think my like of Twitter is proportionate to how busy I am. Twitter allows me to feel connected little bits at a time and it expects very little from me. I can receive and not need to give. I can come and go as I please. I can spread the wealth or stop the insanity, as it were. With the combination of Twitter, RSS, and Facebook, I can basically craft my entire world of information intake and relationship interactions in a way that caters to my interests only. I can create my own personal bubble filled with only things and people I like. How amazing!

Also, how terrifying, narrow, harmful, and boring. Twitter, et al. can be so useful but it can also cut us off from experiences outside of LIS (or insert your interest here). In LIS, we do a lot of preaching to the choir, the choir consisting of other LIS professionals and library fanboys/fangirls. We read the blogs of other LIS professionals and ReTweet their Tweets to our followers who are, again, other LIS professionals and it becomes this closed circle of really well-informed LIS professionals. But what about things that LIS professionals can learn from psychologists or teachers or Starbucks? Your argument is “Yes, see, you posted a link on what librarians can learn from Starbucks and it’s on a librarian blog!” So? So this means that we can have one person scoping out the rest of the world and then bringing it back to us and spoon-feeding it to us through our aggregators? Sure, if you’re the kind of person that doesn’t want to think for himself, rock on.

Don’t get me wrong. I subscribe and follow to tons of feeds/streams by people in the LIS world. I need to in order to not be left behind. But I also try to branch out and read about other things that I can perhaps incorporate into my profession and avoid getting caught in a self-serving loop, which I think is a really important thing to do.

