This, LIBR 246, was one of the most practical classes I took during my MLIS career.

How has my view of social software changed? I already believed that being involved in social software both personally and professionally is becoming a necessity for success. Before this class, however, my view of social software was a bit more optimistic i.e., “If you build it, they will come.” Totally not true. I’ve becoming more realistic in how I view and use social software or at least, my expectations of it.

The technology I found most useful for my personal use was, hands down, Delicious. Delicious, where have you been all my life? I am a lifelong list-maker and categorizer (is that even a word?). Delicious is a whole new way for me to search the internet and be less of a slave to The Google. Also, I find that I learn interesting things about my friends as I follow their Delicious feeds.

The technology I found most useful for professional use was wikis. I started using wikis before I was even in SLIS, but they are a librarian’s dream (as long as they can be maintained). I envision the term “pathfinder” becoming archaic in the not-too-far future.

My one surprise during the course was that I did not hate Twitter. I have a bit of the “hate something because it is popular” gene in me, so I actually didn’t use Twitter personally until this course. I love it. I think it’s great. I learn about exciting things such as the penguin cam at the academy.

My suggestion for improving the course would be to have more professor involvement. I think it is something that is easily lacking in online courses, and I know it takes extra effort to be more present, but I really would have liked to have heard more from the professor, even if it was in comments on our blogs.

How would I sum up my experience? I think this class was a winner. I learned quite a few things I didn’t know whereas I’ve had a couple of courses where I felt like I came out knowing very little more than I went in with.

I like learning. I like knowing things. I’m a bit sad to say that this is my final piece of schoolwork in the MLIS program. I plan on keeping this blog open and blogging library adventures and tidbits and whatever tickles my fancy LIS-wise. Thank you for reading my homework. Now the real fun begins!

